Forged in Blood

Forged in Blood

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
8
NATIONAL BESTSELLER. AWARD WINNER. NEW STORIES SET IN MICHAEL Z. WILLIAMSON'S FREEHOLD SERIES.

WARRIORS AND SOLDIERS TIED TOGETHER THROUGHOUT TIME AND SPACE

From the distant past to the far future, those who carry the sword rack up commendations for bravery. They are men and women who, like the swords they carry, have been forged in blood. These are their stories.

In medieval Japan, a surly ronin is called upon to defend a village against a thieving tax collector who soon finds out it's not wise to anger an old, tired man. In the ugliest fighting in the Pacific Theater, an American sergeant and a Japanese lieutenant must face each other, and themselves. A former US Marine chooses sides with outnumbered Indonesian refugees against an invading army from Java. When her lover is stolen by death, a sergeant fighting on a far-flung world vows vengeance that will become legendary. And, when a planet fragments in violent chaos, seven Freeholders volunteer to help protect another nation's embassy against a raging horde.

Featuring all-new stories by Michael Z. Williamson, Larry Correia, Tom Kratman, Tony Daniel, Michael Massa, Peter Grant, John F. Holmes, and many more.

Contributors:
Zachary Hill
Larry Correia
Michael Massa
John F. Holmes
Rob Reed
Dale Flowers
Tom Kratman
Leo Champion
Peter Grant
Christopher L. Smith
Jason Cordova
Tony Daniel
Kacey Ezell
Michael Z. Williamson

Praise for Forged in Blood:

"The anthology celebrates soldiers and their tools. . . . Most of all, it celebrates warriors and the stuff that makes them so--the mettle more than the metal."-- Tangent

"Fans of combat science fiction will find this collection irresistible...an entertaining and engaging book."-- The Daily News of Galveston County

About Michael Z. Williamson:

"A fast-paced, compulsive read . . . will appeal to fans of John Ringo, David Drake, Lois McMaster Bujold, and David Weber."-- Kliatt

"Williamson's military expertise is impressive."-- SF Reviews

Novels of Michael Z. Williamson's Freehold Universe:

Freehold series
Freehold
The Weapon
The Rogue
Contact with Chaos
Angeleyes
Freehold: Forged in Blood

Ripple Creek series
Better to Beg Forgiveness . . .
Do Unto Others . . .
When Diplomacy Fails . . .

S tandalone
A Long Time Until Now
Publisher: Riverdale, NY : Baen Books, 2018
ISBN: 9781481483537
Branch Call Number: SF FORG
Characteristics: 517 pages ; 17 cm
Additional Contributors: Williamson, Michael Z.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Quotes

Add a Quote
s
SEBoiko
Jun 09, 2018

We have them right where they want us.

s
SEBoiko
Jun 09, 2018

We all are perfect in God's eyes.

s
SEBoiko
Jun 09, 2018

Assumptions would be the death of many people one day,...

s
SEBoiko
Jun 02, 2018

In all of life there is a song.

s
SEBoiko
Jun 02, 2018

Murphy was an optimist!

s
SEBoiko
Jun 02, 2018

Duty is heavier than mountains. Death is lighter than a feather.

s
SEBoiko
Jun 02, 2018

When a deer ran, a dog's instincts were to chase it down.

s
SEBoiko
Jun 02, 2018

Honor is what grants me victory.

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top