The Secret Wife

The Secret Wife

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
A Russian grand duchess and an English journalist. Linked by one of the world's greatest mysteries ...Love. Guilt. Heartbreak. 1914 Russia is on the brink of collapse, and the Romanov family faces a terrifyingly uncertain future. Grand Duchess Tatiana has fallen in love with cavalry officer Dmitri, but events take a catastrophic turn, placing their romance - and their lives - in danger ...2016 Kitty Fisher escapes to her great-grandfather's remote cabin in America, after a devastating revelation makes her flee London. There, on the shores of Lake Akanabee, she discovers the spectacular jewelled pendant that will lead her to a long-buried family secret ...Haunting, moving and beautifully written, The Secret Wife effortlessly crosses centuries, as past merges with present in an unforgettable story of love, loss and resilience. Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Dinah Jefferies.
Publisher: London : Avon, 2016
ISBN: 9780008102142
Branch Call Number: PAUL
Characteristics: 404 pages : genealogical table ; 20 cm


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Mar 06, 2018

Excellent read; very moving-Author researches and knows her characters. The story is about the doomed Romanov family in the time of the Russian revolution and about the love between one of the Grand Duchesses, Tatiana and a royal guard, Dimitri who are caught in the time of the First World War. Plan on reading all of Gill Paul's other novels.

Feb 06, 2018

This book was incredibly dull and predictable. There is always a challenge when reading a "new" story where you already know the ending from history. I didn't feel that the way this story turned out was plausible in any way.

Jan 19, 2018

This is a well worth the read! I almost gave up on it earlier on, seemed to be written more like a history text than a novel, but the dual plot intrigued me, and am I ever glad that I stuck it out. Interesting plot development, great characters and a satisfying ending.

Sep 19, 2017

A fictionalized tale of Tatiana Romanov and Royal Guard Dmitri Malama started during WW 1, through the Russian Revolution and the massacre of the Royal Family until Dmitri's death in NY State in 1975.

Wonderfully woven fact and fiction made told by a master story-teller made this a very interesting read.

Star crossed, love lost and found, the compromises of life, all told with characters you find yourself cheering on.

debwalker Aug 06, 2017

Another haunting mystery based on the doomed Romanov family. Good one.

Jul 17, 2017

This is a good, theoretical story about the Romanov family in Russia. It includes a lot of actual historical information. I would recommend it. 3 1/2 stars

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at SCL

To Top