If Found... Please Return to Elise Gravel

If Found... Please Return to Elise Gravel

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
In the vibrant and playful If Found..., Elise Gravel invites readers to sneak a peek into her sketchbook where imaginary creatures run wild. There's Donald, who sings off-key; Francine, who likes to eat stones; and Wilson, who only wants to grow a nice long beard. And that's just the beginning...there are also vampire boogers, bizarre plants that smell like bacon, and a whole page dedicated to monster farts-you'll never guess who the loudest! Filled to the brim with charming felt marker illustrations, If Found... is not just an exhibition of Gravel's work, but an invitation to young artists to keep a daily sketchbook. She reveals her top tips to becoming a successful illustrator-practice! practice! practice!-while imparting some wise words regarding our tendencies to dismiss "bad art". If Found... is sure to become an instant hit with anyone who's ever had the desire to let their imagination run wild on the page, regardless of drawing abilities or age.
Publisher: Montréal, Québec :, Drawn & Quarterly,, 2017
ISBN: 9781770462786
Branch Call Number: G
Characteristics: 1 volume (unpaged) : colour illustrations
Additional Contributors: Adriance, Shira

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
ArapahoeSteffen Jun 13, 2019

Author/Illustrator Elise Gravel is super appealing, in my opinion, to kids and teens alike. She has great titles in the nonfiction section, autobiographies of undesirable animals like Lice and Rats, and also writes a great chapter book series, Olga and the Smelly Thing from Nowhere – a great read-alike for Diary of A Wimpy Kid. This is her super dynamic diary-style graphic novel. Gravel also has an awesome, feminist website. She's a great lady! ​

l
LisaMabley
Dec 04, 2017

No, story here -- Just a lot of random thoughts and doodles. And although my 7-year-old rarely tolerates this kind of thing, in this case he was very charmed by the cute, quirky illustrations. He was inspired to do much more drawing and journaling.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top