The Bookshop on the Corner

The Bookshop on the Corner

A Novel

Large Print - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
32
1
A New York Times Bestselling AuthorA LibraryReads PickNina Redmond is a librarian with a gift for finding the perfect book for her readers. But can she write her own happy-ever-after? The bestselling author of Little Beach Street Bakery returns with a funny, moving new novel that is a valentine to readers, librarians, and book-lovers the world over.
Publisher: Farmington Hills, Michigan : Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, Cengage Learning, [2017]
Edition: Large print edition
ISBN: 9781410495419
1410495418
Branch Call Number: LP COLG
Characteristics: 481 pages ; 23 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
m
mynovelesquelife
Jun 13, 2019

RATING: 4 STARS
2016; William Morrow Paperbacks/HarperCollins
(Review Not on Blog)

This is such a sweet story...a great read on rainy weekend or a beach read. It is not your standard romance story but more of a journey of finding yourself and your place home. It reminded me a bit of Chocolat, except it is books and reading versus sweets and eating. I was hooked right away when poor Nina lost her library job, and she decided to take a chance on her passion. It is something I would love to do, but am not that gutsy at all. I relate to Nina when it comes to reading and books. I write book reviews and love recommending as I love when someone gets excited over a story like I do. Matching a book to a reader is one of the best feelings. I also love "rescuing" books, and find it hard to part with them. The setting of a small village in Scotland was so picturesque, I want to live there. And, can I say, how great is it to have an Indian character in a book about books! I do wish Surinder was a reader and the main character but still great to have her as the best friend and without all the stereotyping. I enjoyed listening to this on audio a lot!

***I received an eARC from EDELWEISS***

l
LeoLibros
May 25, 2019

Easy, fun, charming book. The plot is simple enough, but it has enough twists to make it interesting.
I loved the setting and the characters, and of course the books!
It was exactly what I needed, a simple and uplifting book.
My only quibble is with the title since the book is not on the corner...

JCLKariE May 02, 2019

The Bookshop on the Corner by Jenny Colgan pulled me in immediately. Colgan’s breezy, witty writing style made this novel a joy to read. The novel captures so many emotions just right. Nina’s many issues with her huge van make me chuckle; as do her mishaps with love. The lush descriptions of the beautiful Scotland Highlands and the friendly locals makes me want to visit and see it for myself.

k
kaubry
Mar 30, 2019

First book I've read from Jenny Colgan - love love loved it, couldn't put it down. Made me want to go visit Scotland even more since it's part of my heritage.

g
Gerry_21
Jan 23, 2019

Another good read from Jenny Colgan. Set in the Scottish highlands - makes you want to move there! Very enjoyable :-)

f
fangger
Dec 26, 2018

An easy, light read. Reminds me of the stories by Maeve Binchy. I like that it is set in the Scottish Highlands.

l
LauraSteinert
Oct 06, 2018

Colgan has a theme: woman becomes redundant (Fired, Dumped, or otherwise out of work) uses her severance pay to start her dream business, finds love. I enjoy her books and encourage others to read them because they are sweet, hopeful, and talk about the need for friends and community. Usually about a 6 or 7 hour read, but the time flies because I become engrossed in the story and allow myself to float along with the character as she discovers friends, learns to trust her community, and discovers she can stand on her own--as long as she remembers she is part of a community.

dustbunny53 Sep 28, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Now I think that Scotland may be my next travel destination.

t
TheresaAJ
May 15, 2018

Nina Redmond, a bookish librarian, is laid off from her job in Birmingham. In a moment of bravery, she buys an old van in Scotland that she converts into a traveling book store. When she lands in Kerrinfief, Nina slowly realizes that it's her fate to be here. As she becomes involved in the village and surrounding countryside, Nina also begins to blossom. Although there's the predictable romance with the handsome, local farmer, Colgan portrays all the charm and warmth of the Scottish countryside and its people during a particular enchanting summer. This book is best suited for that sorely-needed vacation read when all belief can be suspended.

b
bookscoutshawna
Apr 20, 2018

So cozy and cute! This book set me on the path to read ALL of the Jenny Colgan books!

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote
ArapahoeDagmar Feb 19, 2018

Favorite quote from this book:
"Nina sat back down and started reading aloud from "Up on the Rooftops", and the twins quieted down immediately - not because they could follow the story, but because the soothing cadence of somebody reading always had a transformative effect on babies; Griffin's theory was that children were evolutionarily engineered to listen to stories, because it stopped them from wandering off into the woods and getting eaten by hairy mammoths."

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top