Never Knowing

Never Knowing

Book - 2011
Average Rating:
31
1
1
Rate this:

From the acclaimed author of Still Missing comes a psychological thriller about one woman's search into her past and the deadly truth she uncovers.

All her life, Sara Gallagher has wondered about her birth parents. As an adopted child with two sisters who were born naturally to her parents, Sara did not have an ideal home life. The question of why she was given up for adoption has always haunted her. Finally, she is ready to take steps and to find closure.

But some questions are better left unanswered.

After months of research, Sara locates her birth mother---only to be met with horror and rejection. Then she discovers the devastating truth: Her mother was the only victim ever to escape a killer who has been hunting women every summer for decades. But Sara soon realizes the only thing worse than finding out about her father is him finding out about her.

What if murder is in your blood?

Never Knowing is a complex and compelling portrayal of one woman's quest to understand herself, her origins, and her family. That is, if she can survive. . . .

Publisher: New York : St. Martin's Press, c2011
Edition: 1st ed
ISBN: 9780312595685
9781250009319
9781250067265
Branch Call Number: STEV
Characteristics: 410 p. ; 25 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

c
cmfrakes
Dec 09, 2016

I read another one of her books, Still Missing, which I thought was decent. This one, however, was so painful to read! Repetitive action, unlikable/annoying characters (never thought I could dislike a 6 yo character so much!), predictable outcome. I will not be reading this author again.

a
aprilhansen1234
Jul 31, 2016

couldnt get into it

l
lilyofthevalley3
May 31, 2016

Painfully slow and repetitive throughout.

h
hrussell123
May 17, 2016

The first book of hers I read was really good, it was just recently released but once I started to read others from previous years I was very disappointed with her story lines and grew annoyed and bored with her books. Don't think I will continue to read this author to be honest.

s
sandra80
Dec 03, 2015

First of read of this author and will definitely be looking for more. Love that it's local and I can actually picture where everything is taking place.

w
wilqser
Jun 03, 2015

Psychological thriller about a woman who finds out that her biological father may be a serial killer/rapist. Nothing spectacular here.

c
CryMSanchez
Aug 07, 2014

I thought this was another good book from her. I really like how all three books connect, but subtle. As a mother, I could see how Sara just wanted to keep her daughter safe. But that little girl needed a spanking. She is the only thing that I found very annoying about the story. I like the ending, just left me wondering who shot the gun. It didn't say or maybe I was just too tired and missed it. If anyone knows, let me know. Was it the sister or the kid?

m
muffin0321
Oct 14, 2013

first time ive read this author and really liked her style - fast pace not many 'fillers' and kept my interest the whole way through. Interesting twist at the end. Plan on reading her other books.

a
artemishi
Aug 07, 2013

Chevy Stevens shows a remarkable talent in matching voice to character, creating a realistic and flawed main character who you are swept up with as the story progresses. This fast-paced thriller is exciting, frightening, and does an excellent job of following through all the small questions of "what if". I thoroughly enjoy this one, and highly recommend it for fans of thrillers, especially serial-killer thrillers, and a quick read.

t
Trevin123
Jul 13, 2013

I really liked this book. Fast read couldn't put it down!!!

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

green_alligator_2498 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

tamcsa Jan 28, 2012

Sara Gallagher, who has always known she was adopted, seizes the opportunity to discover who her birth parents were. Her biological mother turns out to be a professor at nearby University of Victoria … who was raped by a serial killer as a teenager. Sara is the product of that rape. Sara’s mother wants nothing to do with her, but her biological father, once he discovers her, is only too interested to contact her. Told in a flashback structure (as was Ms Steven’s first wildly successful novel, “Still Missing”) this psychological thriller will keep you on your toes until the end.
For fans of Karin Slaughter, Joy Fielding,Jodi Picoult
Reviewed by JK.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top