Dani's Story

Dani's Story

A Journey From Neglect to Love

Book - 2011
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
The story that captivated a nation?how a horribly neglected little girl was rescued by her loving adoptive parents

In July 2005, a six-year-old girl named Danielle was removed from her Florida home after authorities found her living in bug-ridden squalor, subjected to horrific neglect and so damaged by her own mother that recovery seemed hopeless. But hope was waiting for Dani?and help. In October 2007, Bernie and Diane Lierow, a hard-working couple with five boys of their own, adopted her and utterly transformed her life. This book tells the moving story of how the Lierows rescued Dani and helped her recover to the point where she can not only communicate, something once thought impossible, but can say of herself, ""I pretty.""

Dani's story was featured on Oprah and the subject of a Pulitzer Prize-winning article published by the St. Petersburg Times The Lierows describe their struggle to adopt Dani, how they bonded with her and made a home for her, how they satisfied her craving for contact and stimuli, how Dani began to overcome her severe learning disabilities, how she learned she no longer had to steal food, and how their son Willie may be the greatest brother ever For readers who enjoyed Mistaken Identity: Two Families, One Survivor, Unwavering Hope; Hope's Boy; and Sickened: The True Story of a Lost Childhood

Charting a perilous journey from hardship to hope, a new family, and a second chance at life, Dani's Story is a book you cannot put down and will never forget.

Publisher: Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley, 2011
ISBN: 9780470591338
Branch Call Number: 362.734 LIE 2011 22
Characteristics: vi, 266 p. : ill
Additional Contributors: West, Kay
Lierow, Bernie

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

r
r_e_g
Dec 12, 2016

This is a great read for anyone interested in foster care or adoption or even someone who just enjoys reading about children overcoming hardship.

d
dnl
Oct 13, 2011

A very compelling story that clearly shows the small victories that make up progress with a special needs child. The writing is not amazing and has a failry religious perspective, but I wasn't looking for amazing writing or someone with the same worldview anyway. The family is so warm and loving -what a fortunate situation for them all.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top